book blog · book review · books

Book Review- It Ends With Us

It Ends With Us by Colleen Hoover

Rating: 5/5 stars

it ends with usGoodreads Description:

Lily hasn’t always had it easy, but that’s never stopped her from working hard for the life she wants. She’s come a long way from the small town in Maine where she grew up—she graduated from college, moved to Boston, and started her own business. So when she feels a spark with a gorgeous neurosurgeon named Ryle Kincaid, everything in Lily’s life suddenly seems almost too good to be true.

Ryle is assertive, stubborn, maybe even a little arrogant. He’s also sensitive, brilliant, and has a total soft spot for Lily. And the way he looks in scrubs certainly doesn’t hurt. Lily can’t get him out of her head. But Ryle’s complete aversion to relationships is disturbing. Even as Lily finds herself becoming the exception to his “no dating” rule, she can’t help but wonder what made him that way in the first place.

As questions about her new relationship overwhelm her, so do thoughts of Atlas Corrigan—her first love and a link to the past she left behind. He was her kindred spirit, her protector. When Atlas suddenly reappears, everything Lily has built with Ryle is threatened.

The Feels:

** spoiler alert **
This is 100% NOT a spoiler-free review. Read at your own risk. Preferably after you have read this book and cried all the tears like I did.

This book gutted me in a way I wasn’t ready for. Most of my life has been spent in a sort of bubble. Of course I know bad things happen, I see them every day, but they’ve never happened directly to me. So when I started to read this book, I quickly fell in love with Ryle. The first time he showed his ugly side, I was quick to say, “that’s it Lily, just walk away, don’t stay.” To me, it was very black and white. But, she takes him back, she stays. However, as their relationship grows, you can’t help but continue to grow in love with Ryle. Ryle who never saw himself in a relationship, Ryle who learned to love Lily more than he knew possible. You start seeing yourself agree with Lily’s decision to stick around.

“But for the past week, I haven’t been able to get you out of my head. I don’t know why. At work, at home. All I can think about is how crazy it feels when I’m near you, and I need you to make it stop, Lily.” […] “”Please make it stop. Just once–that’s all it’ll take. I swear.”

Colleen accomplishes something that is entirely hard to do with this book and that is, make you fall completely in love with a character and also make you deeply hate him. There was a point when I skipped to the end, because I had to know, I needed some type of assurance that this wasn’t going to be Lily’s life forever.

Just because someone hurts you doesn’t mean you can simply stop loving them. It’s not a person’s actions that hurt the most. It’s the love. If there was no love attached to the action, the pain would be a little easier to bear.

Every time Lily was caught between the choice of leaving or staying, I unwillingly found myself debating it as well. I understood her pain and her struggle. You see the obvious strength in Lily, the strength to make the tough the decisions and the strength to know when she’s not ready to make them.

I absolutely love the way that Allysa steps up as a true best friend for her. She’s able to separate her love for Lily from her love for her brother and I love her for that.

I also loved watching Lily’s mom be strong and supportive. Admitting that you were weak takes so much guts and she not only admits this to herself and Lily but she becomes strong enough to help Lily through her own tough time.

And Atlas, selfless, wonderful Atlas. What can I say about him? He is everything and more and I was head over heels in love with him from Go.

About Colleen Hoover:

Colleen Hoover is the New York Times bestselling author of nine novels, including the #1 bestseller, Hopeless. She lives in Texas with her husband and three children. She is the founder of The Bookworm Box, a book subscription service which donates 100% of its proceeds to charity. She also owns The Bookworm Box, a specialty bookstore located in Sulphur Springs, Tx.

Mrs. Hoover’s highly anticipated novel, It Ends With Us, releases August 2nd, 2016 and is currently available for preorder.

Her novel, Ugly Love (2014), has been optioned for film by Hackybox Pictures and is slated to begin filming in 2016, starring Nick Bateman.

You can follow Colleen on her very active Facebook page at http://www.facebook.com/authorcolleenhoover and on Instagram and Twitter @colleenhoover
For tour dates or more information, please visit www.colleenhoover.com [from Amazon]

Buy Links:

AmazonBarnes & Noble

Leave a Reply

