book blog · book review · books

Double Book Review- Never Tear Us Apart Series by Monica Murphy

Never Tear Us Apart

5 stars!

Never Tear Us ApartDescription:

A long time ago, when I was fifteen and a completely different person, I saved a girl’s life. I spent only a handful of hours with her, but somehow, we connected—and I’ve never been the same. No one understands what we went through. No one knows what it’s like to be us. We survived, yet I don’t feel like I’m really living—until now. Eight years later, I find her. I want to make her mine. I need to make her mine.  But she’ll hate me forever when she finds out who I really am.

Review:

Ethan and Katherine have both gone through a lot in their lives. This has led both of them to lead lonely lives, isolating themselves from others. The traumatic events of their past very much haunt all their moves in the present. This story is beautifully told by switching points of view and seamlessly flipping between the past and the present to fill in all the blanks. I don’t think I’ve ever read anything quite like this book and as soon as you’re done with the first one you will run to jump into book two.

Ethan has parted with his old life. He has made a completely new name for himself and refuses to look back, until the day he sees Katherine’s face again. Once she’s back into the forefront of his mind, he develops an obsession to find out how she is now.

Katherine has spent the past eight years in hiding. She’s been through something tragic and hasn’t fully let it go or moved on with her life. She hides in her house, and she hides behind her mother and sister, until the day she decides to do something about it. She thinks finally talking about everything that happened to her will provide a kind of closure, but she’s not ready for everything else that comes along with it.

“That’s the theme in regards to Katie, though.
I flat-out don’t think. I feel. I want. I hurt. I need.”

Once Ethan finds Katie again, he refuses to let her go. They develop a relationship and start seeing each other as permanent parts of each other’s life. Katie starts leaning more and more on Ethan and Ethan starts seeing forever with her. However, the deeper they get into this relationship, the harder the fall once the truth comes out. Ethan has kept big secrets from Katherine and doesn’t know if she’ll understand once the truth is out.

I HATED Lisa so much! She needs to go away.

Buy This Book:

AmazonBarnes & Noble

Never Let You Go

5 stars!

Never Let You GoDescription:

The second novel in this darkly sexy contemporary series from bestselling author Monica Murphy wraps up an emotionally powerful two-part tale of forbidden love.

The truth hurts, they say—and my pain cuts deep. While I was falling for Ethan, he was deceiving me the entire time. He held a huge secret, protected by his lies. When I discovered what he was hiding, the truth shook my world, threatening to ruin us forever. Ruin me. But I soon realized that what we share can’t be destroyed.

The connection between us is too strong. It always has been. I can’t deny him any longer. And I can’t deny my truth: I’m in love with Ethan.

I don’t want to let him go.

While we’re trying our best to make this relationship work, other forces are fighting against us. My family, who wants to keep me safe. The media obsessed with my tragic past. The public that feeds off of it. Even Ethan’s father—the man who nearly destroyed me all those years ago. He’s doing his best to finish the job.

Despite my love for Ethan, the doubts creep in, clouding my mind. Is he worth the pain? Will our love survive, or will we have no choice but to end it—end us—once and for all?

Review:

Both Katie and Ethan have been through this terrible, traumatic, life changing thing at the hands of the same person and of course they bond and cling to each other. Once Ethan’s truth comes out, Katie has a hard time reconciling her feelings. She’s confused, she doesn’t know whether to listen to her brain or her heart, or if they’re even telling her different things. She has all these voices in her head, the media and her family and she doesn’t know what is truly best for her.

No matter what anyone else thinks or wants, Katie and Ethan are drawn to each other in a way that neither can explain. Their connection is one that won’t easily be severed. They have to travel through many obstacles, some seemingly insurmountable, in this second book. Katie has so many hang-ups, and in anyone else, in any other book, it would have maybe bothered me, but with what she’s been through, I give Katie all the free passes. Also, Ethan, he’s just SO intense, but he’s never had anyone to truly call his own before and of course he wants this thing to with Katie to work out.

Ethan and Katie help each other through all their hurdles and there’s no way you don’t come out of this thinking that they are not endgame. They just have to see if that’s enough, if they can see through the past and the hurt and everyone else, to let themselves be together.

I love Ethan and Katie so much. After everything they’ve been through in the past and in their current relationship, their ending was truly rewarding as a reader. I fell in love with their relationship and with the way they relied on each other to become stronger people. They truly help each other be better and all you want is for them to figure it out and be happy.

Buy This Book:

AmazonBarnes & Noble

About the Author

Monica MurphyMonica Murphy is the New York Times, USA Today and #1 international bestselling author of the One Week Girlfriend series, the Billionaire Bachelors and The Rules series. Her books have been translated in almost a dozen languages and has sold over one million copies worldwide. She is both self-published and published by Random House/Bantam and Harper Collins/Avon. She writes new adult, young adult and contemporary romance.

She is a wife and a mother of three who lives in central California on fourteen acres in the middle of nowhere along with their one dog and too many cats. A self-confessed workaholic, when she’s not writing, she’s reading or hanging out with her husband and kids. She’s a firm believer in happy endings, though she will admit to putting her characters through angst-filled moments before they finally get that hard won HEA.

Visit her website at http://monicamurphyauthor.com for more information or sign up for her newsletter (copy and paste the link into your browser): http://bit.ly/IW5U0y

Monica is also known as USA Today bestselling romance author Karen Erickson (http://karenerickson.com).

Leave a Reply

