book blog · book review · books · NA · na reads · new reads

Book Review-November 9

November 9 by Colleen Hoover

november 9

Read: 11/16-11/17

Format: paperback

Stars: 5/5

Goodreads Description: Fallon meets Ben, an aspiring novelist, the day before her scheduled cross-country move. Their untimely attraction leads them to spend Fallon’s last day in L.A. together, and her eventful life becomes the creative inspiration Ben has always sought for his novel. Over time and amidst the various relationships and tribulations of their own separate lives, they continue to meet on the same date every year. Until one day Fallon becomes unsure if Ben has been telling her the truth or fabricating a perfect reality for the sake of the ultimate plot twist.

If I were to put the week’s emotions on a graph chart,
it would look like TIDAL WAVES.

The Feels: November 9 is like that boyfriend that broke your heart. Everything starts off fun and cute and light. Then, out of nowhere, he takes your heart and leaves it in tiny pieces. He then fixes it, makes it better and stronger, and once you think it’s time for your HEA, he does it again and again. At some point you realize that he could break your heart a million times and you would let him, as long as he keeps coming back to piece it together.

Why didn’t you tell me that the foundation you taught me
to stand on is made from quicksand?

I loved November 9 so much!!! This book tore me to shreds, but it was also magical and adorable. It wrecked me and broke me and then put me back together. I’m gonna try really hard to spoil nothing, because, you HAVE to read this, and you have to walk into it spoiler free. I was scared to read it for a couple of days because all I saw anywhere was people talking about how broken this book left them. I didn’t want to break, but Colleen Hoover is magical and I had to trust her to put me back together by the end of the book.

Do you want me to be a part of your life on more than just November 9th?

Ben’s voice is written so perfectly that at times I’d be crying and would find myself laughing at some of his inner monologue. He is THE perfect book boyfriend. He spends time trying to compare himself to the “alpha” in books, but there’s no comparison. There’s only Benton James Kessler. Ben is a bit more of a mystery during the book. But once you get to the source of his mystery, you feel EVERYTHING for him. No matter how many times I read this book, I could fall in love with him EVERY. SINGLE. TIME. and I plan on re-reading this many times.

Fallon is broken and isn’t sure how to move on, she sees this cross-country move as her chance to move on. When she meets Ben, she starts to see that she can be fixes. That she can move on and move forward.

For one day each year, I wanted to be this guy who was falling for this girl,
because everything about you captivated me.

The song: You HAVE to download November 9 by Griffin Peterson and listen to it as soon as you finish! You can listen to it before but it’ll be so much more meaningful after you know everything. Griffin is a genius and can make you feel every single feeling you had while reading the book in a 4 minute and 18 second song. Every time I heard the song today I broke just thinking about Ben and Fallon.

I’m losing sleep, cause I write all night, always end up with the words
November 9.

About the Author:

Colleen Hoover is the author of ten New York Times bestselling novels. She self-published her first novel, SLAMMED, in 2012. Five months later it debuted on The New York Times. Colleen has since signed with Atria Books, a division of Simon & Schuster. Her next novel, November 9, is scheduled to release in November, 2015.

Ugly Love, a novel she released in August, 2014, is currently in pre-production with Hackybox Pictures and is slated to release in 2016.

You can follow Colleen on Instagram and Twitter @colleenhoover. You can also find her on her blog at http://www.colleenhoover.com or on her very active Facebook page at www.facebook.com/authorcolleenhoover [from Amazon]

Purchase links: 

Amazon US | Amazon CA | Amazon UK |  Barnes & Noble | Blio | Books-a-Million |iBooks | IndieBound | Kobo | Google | Nook

Song purchase link: 

Itunes | Amazon

Leave a Reply

