book review · books

Quick Book Review: The Consequence of Revenge

The Consequence of Revenge by Rachel Van Dyken

Read on my kindle app (courtesy of Netgalley)

Read from June 3-June 12 (read on to find out why it took me forever to get through this book, don’t judge it just on that yet)

Review:

This book would have been 5 stars for me but the beginning almost killed me… So let’s start from the beginning…

If you’ve read The Consequence of Loving Colton, you already know and probably love Max, he’s funny, crazy but also sweet and incredibly loyal to those he loves. After some crazy shenanigans, his friend Jason signs him up to be the next bachelor. However, this show is not like The Bachelor you watch every week, this is basically The Bachelor meets Survivor.

I definitely could have done without the chapters in the beginning about the doctor’s visit and the gummy bears. Actually after Reid’s encounter with the gummy bears, I stopped reading the book and started to reconsider my choices, but then I remembered how much I loved Max and decided to continue. I think had I not loved Max from the previous book, I would have quit right there, but I wanted him to end up happy so I trudged on.

At this point the story starts to be in the point of view of both Max and Becca, and I love them. Becca is only on the island to get money to help pay for college, her relationship with Max starts up as an alliance of sorts. Max likes Becca and sees her as one of the more “normal” girls there and starts spending most of his free time with her. Through this, Becca reluctantly starts to fall for him as well. She has to decide what’s truly important, and what really matters to her. I love seeing their relationship grow and develop. Max is a bit crazy and over the top but Becca balances him as well as follows his crazy in such a perfect way. They’re really perfectly matched.

I loved when the rest of the gang shows up on the island because it gave them a chance to get to know Becca. This group is so tight knight that they need to know that she fits in with all of them, and she does, quite perfectly.

They have a bit of an obstacle towards the end but are able to overcome it in true Max and Becca fashion, with an over the top poem in the middle of a crowded bar of course.

I was starting a count for how many times Jason got hurt in this book but I lost track. The poor guy just attracts disaster. Will there be more books? I hope so cause I really want to see Jason finally be happy.

Overall, 4 stars seemed the most appropriate because while I loved everything after the gummy bears, I almost never made it there at all.

Oh!! I almost forgot, one of the most important reasons I am obsessed with this book is Max’s narrative, his inner dialogue might be more hilarious than any actual speaking he does in the book. He also has ALL the pop culture references and they are the best. Ok, now I’m really done.
“I received this copy from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review”

 

This review might look a little different from others and it’s cause I just copied my goodreads review and added some stuff here and there.

Leave a Reply

