books

I LEARNED NO LESSONS! BookCon2015

Ok BookCon was an amazing experience. First of all, let’s talk about the really simple, basic things to take into account for any future bookcon adventures.

1: Do NOT wear a dress. Standing in long lines all day often requires sitting down to take a break. Sitting in a dress is very unconfortable at times.
2: Wear comfortable clothes and shoes. You will be doing a LOT of walking. Back and forth from the panels to the show floor. Make sure you’re not slowed down by your footwear. Also, make sure to have layers. It gets hot and cold from one room to the other. I had a cardigan that I kept putting on and taking off all throughout the day.
3: Bring snacks/food/water! This is one of the most important things to remember. I brought 2 snack bars and 2 bottles of water. Maybe it wasn’t all the nutrition I needed for the day but it worked. You do not want to waste time standing in line for food vendors. Also, while I myself didn’t buy any food, I did hear that it gets pretty expensive. So anything you can bring will be very helpful.
4: Learn the floor and events as much as you can prior to arriving. Know exactly what you want to see and where it is happening. I’m sad to say, I missed a couple of author signings because I wasn’t aware of where they were happening until it was too late.
5: The MOST important lesson I learned: Be ready to wait around a LOT, but know it’ll be worth it!

I went to BookCon on Saturday only. Most of the authors I wanted to see were on Saturday so it made the most sense for me. I ended up spending most of my day at panels but it was an amazing time.

What I saw at BookCon:
– Mindy Kaling with BJ Novak
– Aziz Ansari
– Rainbow Rowell
– The Paper Towns panel, featuring John Green, Nat Wolff, the director and screenwriter of Paper Towns, Justice (Radar), and Ryan (aka in charge of the soundtrack).
– The Laugh Button Comedy Show

Each of the panels was certainly worth waiting for. Am I upset I missed CoHo? Of course, but I made the conscious decision that I could absolutely NOT miss Mindy Kaling so it was ok. Do I wonder what it would have been like to see Nick Offerman’s panel? Of course, but Rainbow Rowell was there and I had to make a decision. Going into this experience you have to get used to the idea that you will have to make some tough decisions, but in the end it’ll be ok because you will be seeing authors you love be completely engaging and exciting about topics that you love.

Later on I’ll talk about my reaction to each of the panels and my experience on the actual show floor.

Goodbye for now!

*P.S- If you’re wondering about the title… when asked what Mindy has learned, she jokingly replied “I learned no lessons”.

Leave a Reply

